For those on a dairy-free diet, the white hot chocolate can't be made vegan, even with soy or coconut alternatives. But for many, it remains the star of the show. In years gone by, some fans of the white hot chocolate have campaigned for it to be made permanent.
Unfortunately, Costa took the decision to change their hot chocolate recipe and it now contains milk, which is really disappointing for lots of vegan hot chocolate fans, or people with milk intolerances. Hopefully they will reformulate the recipe, but as of May 2021, Costa's hot chocolate is not suitable for vegans.
The Mint Choc Chip , Coffee, Belgian Chocolate Strawberry Frostinos are all suitable for vegans when ordered with soya or coconut, no cream and no limited edition toppings.
Is Costa Ruby Hot Chocolate Vegan? Costa Ruby Hot Chocolate is not vegan, and apparently it cannot be ordered vegan. Probably the closest thing you can get vegan is the Chai Latte with plant-based milk.
Hot Drinks: All drinks can be made with Alpro soya or coconut milks. Costa's hot chocolates are vegan without whipped cream.
Is Costa Hot Chocolate Vegan? Yes! It contains no milk and is suitable for vegans.
The Terry's Chocolate Orange drink can be made vegan by choosing a dairy-free milk and leaving off the swirl and chocolate segment. The same goes for the Toffee Penny drink, though Costa says that the golden Vermicelli carries a cross-contamination risk from milk.
Costa already use vegan marshmallows in their popular sweet treat, Rocky Road, which features biscuits, marshmallows, and glace cherries with dark chocolate and sugar snow.
The 'Toffee Penny' drink is said to be vegan friendly, but there's a cross-contamination risk from milk. All drinks are to be ordered with your choice of plant milk. What's your favourite festive drink?
1. Starbucks. Starbucks hot chocolate can be made vegan! While the standard order comes with dairy milk and whipped cream, you can swap it for plant-based options like soy, coconut, and almond – and in Europe, you can even choose oat.
International chain Costa Coffee just launched Vege Kream—a vegan whipped cream made with Flora Plant—at all of its Polish locations.
The popular high street bakery chain, Greggs, has an ever-increasing vegan menu. This is due to the rising demand for vegan lunches and snacks and is no doubt helped by the fact the Greggs CEO, Roger Whiteside, has himself converted to a vegan diet.
If you want to spice up your coffee in other ways, all Costa Coffee Syrups are vegan-friendly except their marshmallow and caramel-fudge syrup.
Options hot chocolate is not vegan. While the chocolate itself is dairy-free (only containing sugar, cocoa mass, cocoa powder, and flavoring), the remaining ingredients include a few different milk products including whey powder, skim milk and whole milk powder.
In 2020, we launched a mini cup size with a wider range of great tasting sugar free syrups and we're proud to have achieved a sugar reduction of 20% in our hot chocolate powder since 2015 as well as greatly reducing the calories in our Chai Latte through reformulation and using semi-skimmed milk as the default option.
The toastie is made with Quorn smoky ham and coconut cheese sandwiched between two slices of vegan bread. Costa invited the help of Pimlico Plumber in a blind taste test of their new toastie and they couldn't believe the results.
Avoid any drink with white chocolate—that includes Starbucks' Toasted White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino. Both the toasted and the regular white chocolate mocha sauces contain condensed skim milk, which is not vegan.
Unlike its competitor Starbucks, the Chai Latte in Costa is suitable for vegans as stated on the Costa website.
Vegan Coffee/Drinks at Caffe Nero:
All of Caffe Nero's coffee's are able to be made vegan if you substitute out cow-milk for oat milk, soy milk, or coconut milk — this includes Mocha drinks, Americano's, Cappacuino's, Latte, and of course Expresso's.
Not just for veggies... our vegan menu is here for your meat free Mondays, Sundays and every day in between. Try one of our new recipes, like our Meatless Meatball Hot Wrap or Chef's Special Sunshine 'N Spice Wrap, or reunite with our vegan icons like our freshly baked Dark Chocolate & Almond Butter Cookie.
Unfortunately, After Eights aren't vegan. In 2002, Nestle changed the formula to include butterfat; this was to prevent chocolate bloom (if you've ever had a piece of chocolate that is inexplicably covered in a white-ish substance, that's chocolate bloom and it's effectively just sugar).
The cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, and chocolate powders available at the condiment bar are vegan-approved and perfect for adding extra flavor. Seasonal toppings such as caramel brulée candy topping, chestnut-praline crumbles, dark chocolate curls, and sea salt are all perfect for vegans.
Mocha Frappuccino Blended Beverage
The mocha sauce is already vegan, unlike most of Starbucks' other thick syrups. A tall (12-ounce or 350-mL) Mocha Frappuccino Blended Beverage made with oat milk instead of 2% milk and without whipped cream, provides the following ( 3 , 5, 6 , 7 ): Calories: 170.
Breakfast: Toasted Bagel (plain) Hash browns – Certified vegan.